Need help choosing a program?

Talk to us about which program best suits your professional goals.

University Grants Commission

University Grants Commission (UGC)

The University Grants Commission of India (UGC India) is a statutory body set up by the Indian Union government in accordance to the UGC Act 1956[1] under Ministry of Human Resource Development, and is charged with coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of higher education. It provides recognition to universities in India, and disburses funds to such recognised universities and colleges. V.S. Chauhan is the incumbent chairman.[2] Its headquarters is in New Delhi, and six regional centres in Pune, Bhopal, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Guwahati and Bangalore.[3]

UGC is modelled after University Grants Committee of UK which was an advisory committee of the British government and advised on the distribution of grant funding amongst the British universities. The committee was in existence from 1919 until 1989.


The UGC was first formed in 1945 to oversee the work of the three Central Universities of AligarhBanaras and Delhi. Its responsibility was extended in 1947 to cover all Indian universities.[4]

In August 1949 a recommendation was made to reconstitute the UGC along similar lines to the University Grants Committee of the United kingdom. This recommendation was made by the University Education Commission of 1948-1949 which was set up under the chairmanship of S. Radhakrishnan “to report on Indian university education and suggest improvements and extensions”.[5][6] In 1952 the government decided that all grants to universities and higher learning institutions should be handled by the UGC. Subsequently, an inauguration was held on 28 December 1953 by Maulana Abul Kalam Azad, the Minister of Education, Natural Resources and Scientific Research.

In November 1956 the UGC became a statutory body upon the passing of the “University Grants Commission Act, 1956” by the Indian Parliament.[1]

In 1994 and 1995 the UGC decentralised its operations by setting up six regional centres at PuneHyderabadKolkataBhopalGuwahati and Bangalore.[7] The head office of the UGC is located at Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg in New Delhi, with two additional bureaus operating from 35, Feroze Shah Road and the South Campus of University of Delhi as well

Affiliations & Approvals

Institute: NIMT Institute of Technology and Management & Technology, Ghaziabad

Approval Letter for PGDM Distance 2014-2015

Approval Letter for PGDM Distance 2015-2016

Institute: NIMT Institute of Management & Technology, Greater Noida

Approval Letter for PGDM 2011-14

Approval Letter for PGDM Distance 2014-15

Approval Letter for PGDM 2015-16